top of page
Search
  • Nicola Shackleton

Books - Richard Higginbottom

Updated: Apr 30, 2020

Richard brought in a variety of books for us to view. He went into dept about the wide variety of skills it took in order to create these books. From magazines styles to novel styles, hardback, hand stitched the list goes on. From this session I was intrigued and did start to think about the potential to make a book.


My ideas for my own book:

I would want a hard back of some form as I found these appeared more professional and I was immediately attracted to them at first. The title of the book I would want quite small and not embossed with silver or anything like that I would want it to be simply printed on (also to save some money). The pages I would want a matte paper or a semi gloss, full gloss would not suit my images or theme at all.


I would want my book to be perfect bound, so that the pages were stacked instead of folded. I would potentially want my images full bleed with the occasional small image if it included a lot of negative space. I may include some writing, maybe source out some poems that link to my work. Or just quotes from books.


Things to consider when in Indesign:

  • When sending. All images are 300 DPI

  • File. Always package the file in InDesign before sending it.

  • Order. Ensure all my images are in the correct sequence order that I want before sending.


Things to check before accepting the finished product:

  • Binding. Ensure the book is went bound and isn't going to fall apart when it is used.

  • Edges. Check all edges are cleanly cut.

  • Material. Make sure they've used the correct paper type and the correct material for the front and back cover.

  • Order. Ensure all my images are in the sequence that I created.


This session made it clear to me that a book wasn't going to work with my project as I definitely wanted just three final images. However, for the future I would be interesting in making different books and with the knowledge I know now, it would be an enjoyable process.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

1-1 Richard H Zoom

Feedback Key words: Honesty Criticality Be honest with my work. Be critical. My work isn't finished its ongoing. Form - Light, composition, subject. Photographic conventions - colour - changes atmosph

1-1 Richard M Zoom

Feedback Key Words Explore Occupying the landscape Don't focus too much on what I could've had/made. Focus on what I have and what I have achieved. Why photograph at night? Be sensitive when processin

bottom of page