top of page
Search
  • Nicola Shackleton

Hyperfocal Distancing

For this shoot I really wanted to try and get these pictures perfect. No ,onion blur and to be completely in focus. I struggled with hyperlocal distancing before this so I wanted to really master it and focus on that alone for this shoot.The hyper focal distance is the closest distance that a lens can be focused while keeping objects at infinity sharp. When the lens is focused at two thirds into frame, all objects at distance from half of the hyper focal distance out to infinity will be sharp. I knew this would be hard as when shooting in the dark you are unable to see what you want to focus on. When speaking with speaking to Richard M he advised me that when focusing my camera to used a large torch to the object I desire and focus while it is lit, then turn off the torch and shoot.I tried several times focusing on grass and soil however in order to practice I decided to start with something a bit easier. So I decided to focus on the tree within this image which was two thirds into the frame. I didn't want any motion blur which was easily shown within my previous image using a tree. So I chose my day wisely, a day with hardly any wind. I then exposed for 5 minuets and used my flash gun a second before I closed the shutter. This allowed no time for motion blur. I was extremely impressed with my outcomes. I shot this image three times and they all came out a lot sharper than the last shoot.


I use Photoshop to edit my images instead of Lightroom as I find it gives me a wider range of tools to use in order to make my image perfectly clean. In post I lightened the shadows a touch and also lightened the highlights in the tree. I didn't realise that a car had driven past in the time I was exposing so I had to remove a light trail from the cars rear lights. I cropped the image down to size and created this final image. This is bar far one of my strongest images. I found it hard to create a set of three using this image as its so dark however after re adjusting images several times I finally created my set of three which allowed this image to be apart of. My feedback from this image was to lighten the shadows a bit more which I did experiment with however, I decided against this as it started to make the grass area a green colour which appeared quite saturated.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

1-1 Richard H Zoom

Feedback Key words: Honesty Criticality Be honest with my work. Be critical. My work isn't finished its ongoing. Form - Light, composition, subject. Photographic conventions - colour - changes atmosph

1-1 Richard M Zoom

Feedback Key Words Explore Occupying the landscape Don't focus too much on what I could've had/made. Focus on what I have and what I have achieved. Why photograph at night? Be sensitive when processin

1-1 Rachael Brown Zoom

She created a project shooting at night also. However, her project was about putting herself in situations she found unnerving. Whilst mine is about creating a state of mind that allows me to find pea

bottom of page