top of page
Search
  • Nicola Shackleton

Paper Stocks - Metroprint

Updated: Apr 30, 2020

This lecture with Liam really explored in depth about different paper types to use for our final exhibition if were creating prints. He brought in a wide range of different types of papers that we could potentially have our work printed on. The only issue was that this printers was based in London. However I was open to the idea of finding substitutes if there was a paper type that I was interested in using.


The initial paper types that caught my eye were the C- Type Matt, C-Type Velvet, Hahnemühle Photo Rag and Hahnemühle German Etching. The C-Types were cheaper and what I would most likely resort to in terms of printing. However, if I could afford I would most definitely go for the Hahnemühle paper as it is the better quality paper and colour outcome by far. The C-Type Matt was suprisingly not as matte as I would have thought which I quit liked as it has a soft feel and look. This is the paper that I would print my images on if I chose to print with this company. The C-Type velvet had an extremely soft feel however was slightly more dull in colour so I wouldn't have chosen this one. The Hahnemühle German Etching paper had an extreamly lovely feel to it, it was a textured paper which empahasised the details and textures within the image that was printed onto it, however this isnt the outcome that i wanted so i wouldn't have overall picked this paper to work with. The Hahnemühle Photo Rag was my overall favourite. It was delicate in look however sturdy enough not to rip easily. It was soft to view and overall had the best quality of colour that I personally have seen for a print. However, due to the price of this paper I sadly wouldn't be able to pick it for my final images to be printed on. Hopefully in the far future I will be able to use this paper to print some of my work on as it is truly beautiful paper.


For framing my initial ideas were that I loved the aluminium plates that you could have your print on, they created a really nice texture to the work. However I didn't want this texture that came with it so I decided against this one. I also was entranced by the Duratrans, which was a type of paper than can be placed within a LED light box. However this was for more high end commercial style work and wouldn't fit with my theme. Then Liam went on to mention Reverse Perspex Mounting. Now this took me aback. This is what I wanted. I knew from the moment he mentioned it. However the expense was always in the back of my mind. I could potentially afford one A3 size print using Reverse Perspex Mounting and then for my other images I could have them framed slightly cheaper.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

1-1 Richard H Zoom

Feedback Key words: Honesty Criticality Be honest with my work. Be critical. My work isn't finished its ongoing. Form - Light, composition, subject. Photographic conventions - colour - changes atmosph

1-1 Richard M Zoom

Feedback Key Words Explore Occupying the landscape Don't focus too much on what I could've had/made. Focus on what I have and what I have achieved. Why photograph at night? Be sensitive when processin

bottom of page