top of page
Search
  • Nicola Shackleton

Testing Paper Types

Updated: May 7, 2020

Before the Pop-up Exhibition I wanted to test the different paper types that I could potentially print onto.I printed my photo for the exhibition onto 5 different paper types that we stock at uni.


These were:

Zen Pure White 150gms – Deep Blacks


White Linen 120gms – Textured, didn’t show fine details


Munken Polar Rough- Textured, didn’t show fine details


Monken Polar Smooth – Smooth finish, didn’t show depth of blacks


Phoenixmotion Xenon 150gms – Deep blacks, smooth finish. Used for exhibition.


The Zen Pure White allowed the blacks in the image to be deep and rich in colour. The White Linen and Munken Polar Rough were both textured papers however, they didn't show the fine details within my image. The Monken Polar Smooth had a smooth finish however, it didn't show the depth of the blacks within my image. The Phoenixmotion Xenonis the one I decided to use to print my images on for the Pop-Up Exhibition. It has a smooth finish and allowed the blacks within my image to be deep and rich in colour.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

1-1 Richard H Zoom

Feedback Key words: Honesty Criticality Be honest with my work. Be critical. My work isn't finished its ongoing. Form - Light, composition, subject. Photographic conventions - colour - changes atmosph

1-1 Richard M Zoom

Feedback Key Words Explore Occupying the landscape Don't focus too much on what I could've had/made. Focus on what I have and what I have achieved. Why photograph at night? Be sensitive when processin

bottom of page